God’s Love Is Warmer

I learned this chorus in the 1980s when my cousin Marcia Robertson (Aunty Packa) came to live with us for a while. It is actually the chorus of the song by Petula Clark (1966) but sung about God instead.

The song is also known by the titles “His love is warmer” or “Once I Thought The Love of God“; and the verses may be found in the Comments Section below.

God’s Love Is Warmer
God’s love is warmer than the warmest sunshine,
Softer than a sigh
God’s love is deeper than the deepest ocean,
Wider than the sky
God’s love shines brighter than the
brightest star that shines every night above
And there is nothing in this world that can ever change
God’s love.
.
.

2 Replies to “God’s Love Is Warmer”

  1. I woke up with these words this morning I don’t know why. It’s been over 50 years I used to sing it. as a child. Maybe it’s the glorious sunshine Yahweh has been blessing us in the midst of the devastation of Coronavirus and my feelings numbed by the grief of evil intent & injustice of the police officer who inhumanely murmured George Floyd… I don’t know. I think Holy Spirit is reminding me that God’s unconditional holy love has a cleansing & healing effect on the human psyche that I feel safe. I have hope, healing & restoration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Verses for the song “God’s Love Is Warmer”

    Once I thought the love of God was just for you and me.
    Once I thought we were the only ones.
    Now I know God’s love can find all those from sea to sea;
    And when it finds them, they become his sons.

    Chorus:
    God’s love is warmer than the warmest sunshine,
    Softer than a sigh.
    God’s love is deeper than the deepest ocean,
    Wider than the sky.
    God’s love is brighter than the brightest star
    That shines every night above;
    And there is nothing in this world
    That can ever change God’s love.

    Something happened to my heart the day that I met him,
    something that I never felt before.
    And that something is that he has buried all my sins.
    And now it seems he loves me more and more.

    People always talk of love but never seem to feel.
    They face the world and say things are fine.
    But deep inside must run the thought that this is not for real,
    And I hope they will realize in time.

    Like

Please leave a Comment